Hawaii finalizes 2017 state championship format

state championship format

This year’s Hawaii state football championships will feature three divisions with four teams in each.  The Hawaii High School Athletic Association finalized the format for 2017 on Thursday.

The three divisions are Division I-Open, Division I and Division II.  Last year was the first year that the state used three championship divisions with eight teams qualifying for Division I and six teams each in Open and Division II.

Division I-Open will feature three teams from the Oahu Interscholastic Association, which said last month, it wasn’t interested in having teams in the Open Division.  The Interscholastic League of Honolulu will qualify one team for Division I-Open.

Division I will have one team each from the ILH, the Big Island Interscholastic Federation, the Maui Interscholastic League and the Kauai Interscholastic Federation.

The OIA will have one representative in Division II with the BIIF, ILH and MIL each having one.

All three state championship games will be played November 18 at Aloha Stadium.

Read more Hawaii high school football news

Join our newsletter to get the latest high school football news and rankings delivered to your email.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America.Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet.Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.