14 semifinalists named for Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Offensive and Defensive Linemen Awards

by Jeff Fisher

Frank J. Gaziano Linemen high school football awardThe Frank J. Gaziano Linemen Awards are the largest high school scholarships of their kind in America. Monday, the selection committee announced the semifinalists for the award.

The offensive linemen semifinalists are: Zach Davis, Windham; Dominic DiMillo, Portland; Jacob Doyon, Messalonskee of Oakland; Anthony Franchetti, Mt. Blue of Farmington; Grant Smith, Falmouth; Darren Ward, Lisbon; and Benjamin Zuke, Thornton Academy of Saco.

The defensive linemen semifinalists are: Hunter Bowen, Windham; Zordan Holman, Cheverus; Jeremiah Israel-Copeland, Portland; Matthew Krusiec, Deering; Seamus McKaig, Orono; Shane Normandeau, Kennebunk; and William Parkin, Leavitt.

The winner in each category will receive a $5,000 scholarship and a trophy.  The runner-ups will each get a $1,000 scholarship, plus a trophy.

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.