2016 Nebraska high school football pairings

Nebraska Top 5

The Nebraska high school football playoffs begin this weekend.  Below are all of the first round games.

Class A
First round

Lincoln Southwest (4-5) vs. Omaha North (9-0), 7 p.m. at Kinnick

Grand Island (6-3) at Kearney (7-2), 7 p.m. at UNK

Lincoln East (5-4) vs. Lincoln Southeast (8-1), 7 p.m. at Seacrest

Lincoln Pius X (5-4) at Omaha Burke (7-2), 7 p.m.

Omaha Westside (5-4) vs. Millard North (8-1) 4 p.m. at Buell

Norfolk (6-3) vs. Omaha Creighton Prep (7-2), 7 p.m. at Benson

Papillion-La Vista South (6-3) vs. Millard West (7-2), 7:30 p.m. at Buell

Lincoln High (5-4) at Bellevue West (8-1), 7 p.m.

Quarterfinals Nov. 4: LSW-ON winner vs. GI-Kearney winner; LE-LSE winner vs. LPX-OB winner; WS-MN winner vs. NF-OCP winner; PLVS-MW winner vs. LH-BW winner.

Semifinals Nov. 11: LSW-ON-GI-Kearney winner vs. LE-LSE-LPX-OB winner; WS-MN-NF-OCP winner vs. PLVS-MW-LH-BW winner

Final Nov. 21: 7:15 p.m. at Memorial Stadium

Class B

Omaha Gross (4-5) vs. Elkhorn South (9-0), 8 p.m. at Elkhorn

York (7-2) at Aurora (7-2)

Blair (5-4) at Scottsbluff (8-1)

Grand Island Northwest (5-4) at McCook (8-1)

Bennington (5-4) at Omaha Skutt (7-2)

Norris (7-2) at Elkhorn (7-2), 4:30 p.m.

Beatrice (7-2) at Columbus (7-2)

Omaha Roncalli (5-4) at Gretna (7-2)

Quarterfinals Nov. 4: OG-ES winner vs. Y-A winner; B-SB winner vs. GINW-M winner; B-OS winner vs. N-E winner; B-C winner vs. OR-G winner.

Semifinals Nov. 11: OG-ES-Y-A winner vs. B-SB-GINW-M winner; B-OS-N-E winner vs. B-C-OR-G winner

Final Nov. 22: 7:15 p.m. at Memorial Stadium

Class C-1

Syracuse (5-4) at Wahoo Neumann (8-1)

Ogallala (7-2) at Chase County (8-1)

Columbus Scotus (6-3) at Kearney Catholic (8-1)

Gothenburg (6-3) at Wahoo (8-1)

Columbus Lakeview (6-3) at O’Neill (9-0)

Norfolk Catholic (6-3) at David City Aquinas (7-1)

Fairbury (8-1) at Boys Town (7-2)

Omaha Concordia (5-4) at Arlington (9-0)

Quarterfinals Nov. 4: S-WN winner vs. O-CC winner; CS-KC winner vs. G-W winner; CLV-ON winner vs. NC-DCA winner; F-BT winner vs. OC-A winner.

Semifinals Nov. 11: S-WN-O-CC winner vs. CS-KC-G-W winner; CLV-ON-NC-DCA winner vs. F-BT-OC-A winner

Final Nov. 22: 2:45 p.m. at Memorial Stadium

Class C-2

Yutan (6-3) at Centennial (9-0)

Hershey (7-2) at St. Paul (7-2)

North Platte SP (7-2) at Hartington CC (8-1)

Stanton (6-3) at Wilber-Clatonia (9-0)

Sutton (6-3) at Battle Creek (7-2)

Doniphan-Trumbull (7-2) at Oakland-Craig (8-1)

Central City (6-3) at Crofton (7-2)

Cross County (6-3) at Valentine (8-1)

Quarterfinals Nov. 4: Y-C winner vs. H-SP winner; NPSP-HCC winner vs. S-WC winner; S-BC winner vs. DT-OC winner; CC-C winner vs. CC-V winner.

Semifinals Nov. 11: Y-C-H-SP winner vs. NPSP-HCC-S-WC winner; S-BC-DT-OC winner vs. CC-C-CC-V winner

Final Nov. 22: 10:45 a.m. at Memorial Stadium

Class D-1

1st Round


West bracket

Amherst (2-6) at Palmer (8-0)

Alma (6-2) at Hemingford (6-2), 2 p.m. MT

West Holt (5-3) at Dundy County-Stratton (5-3), 2 p.m. MT

Sutherland (3-5) at CWCE (8-0)

Cambridge (4-4) at Elm Creek (8-0), 7 p.m.

Kenesaw (5-3) at Medicine Valley (7-1), 6 p.m.

Burwell (6-2) at South Loup (7-1)

Bertrand (2-6) at Perkins County, 4 p.m. MT

East bracket

Clearwater-Orchard (2-6) at West Point GACC (8-0)

Humphrey/Holy Family (4-4) at Pender (4-4)

High Plains (3-5) vs. East Butler (4-4), 6 p.m. at Dwight

Nebraska Lutheran (3-5) at Heartland (7-1)

Clarkson/Leigh (3-5) at Nebraska City Lourdes (6-2)

Johnson-Brock (5-3) at Howells-Dodge (6-2)

Hartington-Newcastle (6-2) at Tri County (5-3)

Diller-Odell (3-5) at Creighton (7-1)

Second round Nov. 2

West: C0-GACC winner vs. HHF-P winner; HP-EB winner vs. NL-H winner; CL-NCL winner vs. JB-HD winner; HN-TC winner vs. DO-C winner. East: A-P winner vs. A-H winner; WH-DCS winner vs. S-CWCE winner; C-EC winner vs. K-MV winner; B-SL winner vs. B-PC winner.

Quarterfinals Nov. 8

West: CO-GACC-HHF-P winner vs. HP-EB-NL-H winner; CL-NCL-JB-HD winner vs. HN-TC-DO-C winner. East: A-P-A-H winner vs. WH-DCS-S-CWCE winner; C-EC-K-MV winner vs. B-SL-B-PC winner.

Semifinals Nov. 14: West plays West and East plays East.

Final Nov. 21: 2:45 p.m. at Memorial Stadium

Class D-2 (8-Man)

1st Round 


East bracket

Sterling (2-6) at Osceola (7-1)

Friend (7-1) at Falls City Sacred Heart (7-1)

Exeter-Milligan (5-3) at Bloomfield (7-1)

Mead (4-4) at Lawrence-Nelson (7-1)

Emerson-Hubbard (4-4) at Humphrey SF (7-1), 6 p.m.

Fullerton (6-2) at Wynot (7-1)

Randolph (5-3) at Osmond (5-3)

Allen (4-4) at BDS (8-0), at Bruning

West bracket

Wauneta-Palisade (5-3) vs. Twin Loup (8-0), 3 p.m. at Taylor

Garden County (7-1) at Sumner-EM (6-2)

Eustis-Farnam (5-3) at O’Neill St. Mary’s (7-1)

Paxton (5-3) at Blue Hill (7-1)

North Central (3-5) at Loomis (8-0)

Ansley-Litchfield (4-4) at Arapahoe (6-2)

Giltner (4-4) at Sandhills/Thedford (6-2)

Crawford (4-4) at Mullen (8-0)

Second round Nov. 4

East: S-O winner vs. F-FCSH winner; EM-B winner vs. M-LN winner; EH-HSF winner vs. F-W winner; R-O winner vs. A-BDS winner. West: WP-TL winner vs. SEM-GC winner; EF-OSM winner vs. P-BH winner; NC-L winner vs. AL-A winner; G-ST winner vs. C-M winner.

Quarterfinals Nov. 8

East: S-O-F-FCSH winner vs. EM-B-M-LN winner; EH-HSF-F-W winner vs. R-O-A-BDS winner. West: WP-TL-SEM-GC winner vs. EF-OSM-P-BH winner; NC-L-AL-A winner vs. G-ST-C-M winner.

Semifinals Nov. 14: East plays East and West plays West.

Final Nov. 21: 10:15 a.m. at Memorial Stadium


1st Round


Walthill (6-2) at Cody-Kilgore (8-0)

South Platte (6-2) at Harvard (7-1)

Silver Lake (7-1) at St. Edward

Spalding Academy (6-2) at Riverside (8-0)

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.