2017 Kentucky AP All-State high school football teams

Kentucky high school football rankings
gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

The Associated Press has released its 2017 Kentucky High School All-State first and second teams that were selected by 17 media representatives from across the state.

Danville’s D’Mauriae VanCleve was named the state’s Mr. Football winner.  The 5-7 VanCleve VanCleave ended his career at Danville with 3,012 receiving yards on 220 receptions. He rushed for 1,317 career yards and scored 73 total touchdowns to go along with 112 tackles and 16 interceptions on defense.

Logan County’s Todd Adler was named Coach of the Year.

Related: Trinity’s Bob Beatty named National Coach of the Year


Quarterback — AJ Mayer, Covington Catholic
Running Back — Jake Chisholm, Ryle
Running Back — Wandale Robinson, Western Hills
Wide Receiver — Rondale Moore, Louisville Trinity
Wide Receiver — D’mauriae Vancleave, Danville
Wide Receiver — Reese Smith, Boyle County
Offensive Lineman — Will Bramel, Boyle County
Offensive Lineman — Wyatt Smock, Louisville St. Xavier
Offensive Lineman — Bryan Hudson, Scott County
Offensive Lineman — Ethan Bingham, Johnson Central
Offensive Lineman — Zack Ferris, Pulaski County
Kicker — Alex Cohron, South Warren


Defensive Lineman — Tyrese Allen, Paintsville
Defensive Lineman — Jacob Lacey, South Warren
Defensive Lineman — Stephen Herron, Louisville Trinity
Defensive Lineman — Tahj Rice, Louisville Waggener
Linebacker — Justice Dingle, Bowling Green
Linebacker — Kam Butler, Covington Catholic
Linebacker — Kyle Hurt, Mayfield
Defensive Back — Jairus Brents, Louisville Waggener
Defensive Back — Cory Trice, Christian County
Defensive Back — Shannon Bishop, Louisville Pleasure Ridge Park
Defensive Back — Trevon Faulkner, Mercer County
Punter — Riley Woods, Wayne County


Quarterback — Nick Bohn, Louisville Trinity
Running Back — Jay Becherer, Elizabethtown
Running Back — Patric Edwards, Southwestern
Running Back — Chase Estep, Corbin
Wide Receiver — Milton Wright, Louisville Christian Academy
Wide Receiver — Marquel Tinsley, Daviess County
Wide Receiver — Trevor Grant, Graves County
Wide Receiver — Ziyon Kenner, Bowling Green
Offensive Lineman — Charles Allen, Louisville Doss
Offensive Lineman — Tanner Bowles, Glasgow
Offensive Lineman — Trey Livingood, Madison Southern
Offensive Lineman — Trevor Terrell, Mayfield
Offensive Lineman — Austin Huddleston, Whitley County
Kicker — Sebastian Mata, Louisville Trinity


Defensive Lineman — Arak McDuffie, Louisville Trinity
Defensive Lineman — Dayton Leblanc, Frederick Douglass
Defensive Lineman — Matt Horn, Johnson Central
Defensive Lineman — J.J. Weaver, Louisville Moore
Linebacker — Carter Smith, Madison Southern
Linebacker — Derek Wellman, Belfry
Linebacker — Luke Bowman, Louisville Central
Defensive Back — Glenn Covington, Scott County
Defensive Back — Kadin Smith, Spencer County
Defensive Back — Trel Riley, Caldwell County
Defensive Back — Devin Varney, Belfry
Punter — Chase Estep, Corbin

Small Player Big Play

small player big play

No More Fumbles

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.