32 nominees announced for Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award

nfl don shula award
gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

Once again, the National Football League is honoring 32 head high school football coaches across the country with nominations for the prestigious Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award. The 32 names that you see below are being saluted for their character and integrity, leadership, dedication to the community, commitment to player health and safety and on-field success.

Nominating Team, High School, Coach

Arizona Cardinals, Highland High School, Brock Farrell

Atlanta Falcons, Pike County High School, Brad Weber

Baltimore Ravens, Glenleg High School, Butch Schaffer

Buffalo Bills, Clymer-Sherman-Panama High School, Ty Harper

Carolina Panthers, Tarboro High School, Jeff Craddock

Chicago Bears, Sacred Heart-Griffin, Ken Leonard

Cincinnati Bengals, Wyoming High School, Aaron Hancock

Cleveland Browns, Kirtland High School, Tiger Laverde

Dallas Cowboys, Duncanville High School, Reginald Samples

Denver Broncos, Julesburg High School, Chris Michael

Detroit Lions, Reading High School, Rick Bailey

Green Bay Packers, Muskego High School, Ken Krause

Houston Texans, Santa Fe High School, Mark Kanipes

Indianapolis Colts, Warren Central, Jayson West

Jacksonville Jaguars, Mandarin High School, Bobby Ramsay

Kansas City Chiefs, North Kansas City High School, Leon Douglas

Los Angeles Chargers, Lawndale High School, Travis Clark

Los Angeles Rams, Mater Dei High School, Bruce Rollinson

Miami Dolphins, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Aaron Feis

Minnesota Vikings, Owatonna Senior High School, Jeff Williams

New England Patriots, North Andover High School, John Dubzinski

New Orleans Saints, Notre Dame High School, Lewis Cook

New York Giants, Hasbrouck Heights High School, Nick Delcazo

New York Jets, Midwood High School, Anthony Odita

Oakland Raiders, Canyon Springs High School, Gus McNair

Philadelphia Eagles, St. Joseph’s Preparatory School, Gabe Infante

Pittsburgh Steelers, Upper St. Clair High School, Jim Render

San Francisco 49ers, Liberty High School, Ryan Partridge

Seattle Seahawks, Colville High School, Randy Cornwell

Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Pinellas Park High School, Kenneth Crawford

Tennessee Titans, Oakland High School, Kevin Creasy

Washington Redskins, Highland Springs High School, Loren Johnson

“We are honored to celebrate the 32 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year nominees, as each embodies the integrity, commitment and character of Coach Shula,” NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell said. “High school football coaches not only serve as leaders, but as role models dedicated to shaping the lives of young high school players on and off-the-field.”

All Don Shula Award nominees are invited to attend the 2019 Pro Bowl in Orlando, FL and will be recognized in special ways during the NFL’s week-long celebration of football. Throughout the week, coaches will receive VIP access and accommodations at various events such as Pro Bowl practices, the Play Football High School Skills Showdown and Play Football Celebrity Flag game; a chance to interact and engage with various members of the football community; and attend the Pro Bowl. Each coach will also have an opportunity to invite a senior on their roster to participate in the Skills Showdown to represent their high school football community.

“It was truly the honor of a lifetime to be recognized as one of the elite high school coaches in the nation,” said Robert Garrett, 2017 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award winner. “As a coach, you never seek individual recognition or accolades and the priority is always helping young men to achieve their highest potential, but being nominated for the Don Shula Coach of the Year Award is special and this year’s nominees should be proud.”

Two finalists will each receive $15,000 from the NFL Foundation, $10,000 of which will go to their high school’s football program. They will also attend Super Bowl LIII in Atlanta as special guests of the NFL. The Don Shula Award winner will be announced during the 2019 Pro Bowl, airing Sunday, Jan. 27 at 3 PM ET on ESPN and ESPN Deportes, and simulcast on ABC. The winner will also be recognized and walk the red carpet at NFL Honors, a two-hour primetime awards special to air nationally on Saturday, Feb. 2, the eve of Super Bowl LIII, at 9 PM (ET and PT) on CBS.

Past Winners of the Don Shula Award

2017 – Robert Garrett, Crenshaw (California)

2016 – Randy Allen, Highland Park (Texas)

2015 – Michael Burnett, Tuscarora (Virginia)

2014 – Bruce Larson, Somerset (Wisconsin)

Listen to Coach Larson on High School Football America Radio Show

2013 – Mike Grant, Eden Prairie (Minnesota)

Listen to Coach Grant on High School Football America Radio Show

2012 – Steve Specht, St. Xavier (Ohio)

2011 – John McKissick, Summerville (South Carolina)

2010 – Ray Seals, Houston Madison (Texas)

Small Player Big Play

small player big play

No More Fumbles

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.