All-Time High School Football Coaching Wins Heading into 2020

all time coaching wins
gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

Lots of movement on America’s all-time coaching wins list after the 2019 season with lots of milestones ahead in 2020.

At the top, J.T. Curtis of John Curtis in Louisiana is likely to become just the second high school football coach to enter the 600-Win Club. Curtis needs just eight victories reach the mark. He’ll probably end the year within two years of catching the legendary John McKissick, who passed away before the holidays.

Right below Curtis at No. 3 is Hampton High School’s (Virginia) Mike Smith, who is just four victories away from reaching the 500-Win Club in 2020.

Moving-up from No. 5 in 2019 to No. 4 heading into 2020, St. Mary’s Springs’ (Wisconsin) head coach Robert Hyland is proving that age doesn’t matter. Hyland directed SMS to its ninth overall title and third straight in 2019.

Other coaches on the list winning state titles in 2020 — Philip Haywood of Belfry (Kentucky), Jim Roth of Southern Columbia (Pennsylvania), Gary Rankin of Alcoa (Tennessee), Jim Hightower of St. Thomas More (Louisiana) and Tom Knotts of Dutch Fork (South Carolina).

Knotts’s four straight South Carolina state championship title came as he matched wits with Dorman’s Dave Gutshall, who joined the 400-Win Club earlier in the year in 2019. The 400-Win Club grew by three other of coaches last year — Randy Allen (403 wins) Highland Park in Texas, Mike Mahlen (401 wins) of Verndale in Minnesota and Jim France (401 wins) of Manchester in Ohio reached the exclusive club in 2019.

Editor’s Note: We use a several different media sources to create this list. If you feel you have more information that we can consider for our list, please email [email protected]

All-Time High School Football Coaching Wins

No. 1 John McKissick (South Carolina) 621-156-13

No. 2 *J.T. Curtis – John Curtis HS (Louisiana) 592-66-6

No. 3 *Mike Smith – Hampton HS (Virginia) 496-96-2

No. 4 *Robert Hyland – St. Mary’s Springs (Wisconsin) 478-103-2

No. 5 Larry Campbell (Georgia) 477-85-3

No. 6 *Phil Danaher – Calallen (Texas) 470-113-4

No. 7 Charles “Corky” Rogers (Florida) 466-84-1

No. 8 George Curry (Pennsylvania) 455-99-5

No. 9 *Philip Haywood – Belfry HS (Kentucky) 449-137

No. 10 (tie) *Bill Castle – Lakeland HS (Florida) 444-90

No. 10 (tie) Jack Henzes (Pennsylvania) 444-168-8

No. 12 (tie) *Jim Roth – Southern Columbia HS (Pennsylvania) 443-63-2

No. 12 (tie) John Herrington (Michigan) 443-112-1

No. 14 *Gary Rankin – Alcoa HS (Tennessee) 439-76

No. 15 (tie) *C.J. Hamilton – Silver Lake (Kansas) 433-92

No. 15 (tie) *Jerry Sinz – Edgar HS (Wisconsin) 433-85

No. 17 Dick Tighe (Iowa) 432-167-8

No. 18 Al Francassa (Michigan) 431-117-7

No. 19 (tie) *Jim Hightower – St. Thomas More (Louisiana) 429-128-1

No. 19 (tie) *Jerry Pezzetti – Ankeny Centennial HS (Iowa) 429-160-1

No. 21 G.A. Moore (Texas) 426-92-9

No. 22 *Larry “Bud” Wright – Sheridan HS (Indiana) 424-199-2

No. 23 Curt Bladt – Harlan HS (Iowa) 418-63

No. 24 (tie) *David Gentry – Murphy HS (North Carolina) 416-196

No. 24 (tie) *Tom Knotts – Dutch Fork HS (South Carolina) 416-64

No. 26 Jack Holley (North Carolina) 412-96-9

No. 27 *Dave Gutshall – Dorman HS (South Carolina) 410-138

No. 28 Jim Render (Pennsylvania) 406-141-6

No. 29 (tie) *Bill Hurst – Centreville Academy (Mississippi) 405-126

No. 29 (tie) Pete Adkins (Missouri) 405-60-4

No. 29 (tie) Bob Milloy (Maryland) 405-124-1

No. 32 (tie) *Randy Allen – Highland Park HS (Texas) 403-89-6

No. 32 (tie) Robert Paroli (North Carolina) 403-206-13

No. 34 (tie) *Mike Mahlen – Verndale HS (Minnesota) 401-124-3

No. 34 (tie) *Jim France – Akron Manchester HS (Ohio) 401-129-4

No. 36 Bob Ladouceur (California) 399-25-3

No. 37 (tie) Gordon Wood (Texas) 394-93-15

No. 37 (tie) Sid Otton (Washington) 394-131

No. 39 (tie) *Dudley Hilton – Bell County HS (Kentucky) 393-123

No. 39 (tie) *Ricky Black – Jackson Prep (Mississippi) 393-78

No. 41 Ron Stolski – Brainerd HS (Minnesota) 389-183-5

No. 42 (tie) *Ken Leonard – Sacred Heart-Griffin HS (Illinois) 387-79

No. 42 (tie) *Geno Saccocia – Steubenville HS (Ohio) 387-74

No. 44 Willie Varner (South Carolina) 383-132-10

No. 45 Ron Holtman (Missouri) 381-103-4

No. 46 Frank Lenti (Illinois) 374-77

*Will be a head coach in 2020

Small Player Big Play

small player big play

No More Fumbles

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.