Allen’s Westerberg named NHSCA National Football Coach of the Year

gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

by Jeff Fisher

Tom Westerberg Courtesy Allen ISD

Tom Westerberg
Courtesy Allen ISD


Tom Westerberg, who has led the Allen Eagles to back-to-back Texas Class 5A Division I championships, is the 2014 National High School Coaches Association‘s National High School Football Coach of the Year.

The NHSCA has been honoring high school coaches in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports nationwide for the last 15 years.

“This announcement is always a lot of fun for me and we’re very proud to salute Coach Westerberg,” said NHSCA Executive Director Bob Ferraro, Jr. “All of the coaches we honor are outstanding examples for successful high school coaches in their sport. They place a high value on the teamwork skills their players learn for success in the classroom and on the field, and we are proud to be honoring all of them.”

In 10 years as the leader of the Eagles, Westerberg’s teams have won three state titles in Texas’ biggest classification. Allen’s overall record under Westerberg is 118-16 with eight of his ten seasons as head coach ending with at least ten victories. By finishing a perfect 16-0 in 2013, Allen will bring a 27-game win streak into the 2014 season. With the return of several key players including all-state quarterback Kyler Murray, the Allen Eagles are expected to challenge for a third straight state title.

“It is definitely an honor for our football program at Allen for me to be named as the National Coach of the year,” said Westerberg. “It is through countless hours of our staff and the desire of our kids to achieve at a high level, that we are able to accomplish the things that we have over the last 10 years.  Thanks for recognizing me and our program.”

Last year’s winner was J.T. Curtis of John Curtis School in Louisiana.

In 2012, Allen was declared High School Football America’s “mythical” national champs, sharing the honor with Curtis’ Patriots. Last year, the Eagles were declared outright “mythical” national champs.

Below are past winners of the NHSCA National High School Football Coach of the Year Award.

2013 – J.T. Curtis , John Curtis, Louisiana

2012 – Chuck Lenahan – Plymouth HS, New Hampshire

2011 – George Smith – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida

2010 – Jeremy Williams – Greenville HS, Georgia

2009 – John McKissick – Summerville HS , South Carolina

2008 – James Drewry – Booneville HS, Mississippi

2007 – Gary Rankin – Alcoa HS, Tennessee

2006 – Randy Allen – Highland Park HS, Texas

2005 – Charles “Corky” Roger – The Bolles School, Florida

2004 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2003 – Chris Jones – Heritage HS, Virginia

2002 – Alan Trimble – Jenks HS , Oklahoma

2001 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2000 – Mike Pettine, Sr. – Central Bucks West, Pennsylvania

Small Player Big Play

small player big play

No More Fumbles

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.