American Heritage’s (Plantation, FL) Patrick Surtain, Sr. named High School Football America/NHSCA National High School Football Coach of the Year

gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

High School Football America is proud to announce that former NFL defensive back Patrick Surtain, Sr. is the 2020 National High School Football Coach of the Year. The award is presented jointly with our partners at the National High School Coaches Association.

This past season, Surtain led American Heritage (Plantation) to the Florida 5A state championship, the school’s third overall under the direction of the former Surtain, who spent 11 seasons in the NFL with the Miami Dolphins and Kansas City Chiefs. Surtain took-over the American Heritage program in 2016 after serving as the team’s defensive coordinator for three seasons, during which time the Patriots won another state title.

In addition to being one of the top programs in the State of Florida, AH has become a regular in the national rankings. All five of his teams have finished the year ranked in the High School Football America (“HSFA”) national rankings. This past season, the Patriots were ranked No. 20 in the High School Football America 100. American Heritage’s highest ranking was in 2017 when it finished No. 6 in the nation in the HSFA rankings. The 2016 state championship team was ranked No. 14 in America by High School Football America.

Surtain is the fourth football coach from Florida to be honored by the NHSCA. Miami Central’s Roland Smith won the award for the 2014 season. George Smith of St. Thomas Aquinas was honored in 2010-11 school year and the late Charles “Corky” Rogers of The Bolles School was our first honoree during the 2004-2005 sports year.

Coach Surtain will receive a beautiful plaque and also be honored in National High School Digital Sports Hall of Fame that is currently under development.

Other finalists for this year’s award were Bobby Acosta of IMG Academy (Florida), Kevin Creasy of Oakland (Tennessee), Todd Dodge of Westlake (Texas) Eric Kjar of Corner Canyon (Utah), Roger Harriott of St. Thomas Aquinas (Florida), Jim Hightower of St. Thomas More (Louisiana), Jon Kay of North Shore (Texas) and Eric Moore of Center Grove (Indiana).

Past High School Football America/National High School Coaches Association HS Football Coach of the Year Award Winners

2020-2021 – Patrick Surtain, Sr. – American Heritage School, Plantation, Florida

2019-2020 – Tom Knotts – Dutch Fork HS, South Carolina

2018-2019 – Gabe Infante – St. Joseph’s Prep, Pennsylvania

2017-2018 – Bob Beatty – Trinity HS, Kentucky

2016-2017 – Bruce Rollinson – Mater Dei HS, California

2015-2016 – Gary Joseph – Katy HS, Texas

2014-2015 – Roland Smith – Miami Central HS, Florida

2013-2014 ­– Tom Westerberg – Allen HS, Texas

2012-2013 – J.T. Curtis – John Curtis HS, Louisiana

2011-2012 – Chuck Lenahan – Plymouth HS, New Hampshire

2010-2011 – George Smith – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida

2009-2010 – Jeremy Williams – Greenville HS, Georgia

2008-2009 – John McKissick – Summerville HS, South Carolina

2007-2008 – James Drewry – Booneville HS, Mississippi

2006-2007 – Gary Rankin – Alcoa HS, Tennessee

2005-2006 – Randy Allen – Highland Park HS, Texas

2004-2005 – Charles “Corky” Roger – The Bolles School, Florida

2003-2004 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2002-2003 – Chris Jones – Heritage HS, Virginia

2001-2002 – Alan Trimble – Jenks HS, Oklahoma

2000-2001 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

1999-2000 – Mike Pettine, Sr. – Central Bucks West, Pennsylvania

No More Fumbles

Play Football

nfl play football

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.