Bishop Gorman’s Tate Martell named NHSCA/High School Football America Player of the Year

Tate martellPhoto: Stephen R. Sylvanie, USA TODAY Sports
gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

The National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) and High School Football America are pleased to announce Tate Martell of Bishop Gorman High School in Las Vegas, Nevada is the 2017 NHSCA National High School Senior Football Athlete of the Year.

Martell finished his career 45-0 as the school’s starting quarterback with 113 touchdown passes. During his senior year, Martell completed 136 of 215 passes for 2,362 yards and 41 touchdowns with just one interception. He also ran for 1,257 yards and 21 touchdowns. He was selected to play in the 2017 U.S. Army All-American Bowl.

In the classroom has a 3.32 GPA, plus he volunteers as a youth football coach and mentors elementary school students. Martell will be attending Ohio State University in the fall.

“Tate is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Tate has excelled on the field and in the classroom. In addition, he is an active in volunteering in his community as well. He is the total package of a student-athlete.”

Martell is the first winner of the National Senior Football Player of the Year Award from the state of Nevada.

This the 18th year straight year the NHSCA will honor achievers in the high school athletic community nationwide with its Athlete of the Year Award in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. Other winners will be announced throughout the rest of the 2016-2017 school year.

Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.

Past Winners of the NHSCA National Senior Football Athlete of the Year

2016 – Sean McGrew – St John Bosco HS, California

2015 – Kyler Murray – Allen HS, Texas

2014 – Leonard Fournette – St. Augustine HS, Louisiana

2013-  Derrick Henry – Yulee HS, Florida

2012 – Jonathan Gray – Aledo HS, Texas

2011 – Johnny Manziel – Tivy HS, Texas

2010 – Seantrel Henderson – Cretin-Derham Hall, Minnesota

2009 – Garrett Gilbert – Lake Travis HS, Texas

2008 – Terrell Pryor – Jeannette HS, Pennsylvania

2007 – John Brantley – Trinity Catholic HS, Florida

2006 – John Dergo – Morris HS, Illinois

2005 – Greg Paulus – Christian Brothers Academy, New York

2004 – Jeff Byers – Loveland HS, Colorado

2003 – Austin Scott – Parkland HS, Pennsylvania

2002 – Lorenzo Booker – St. Bonaventure HS, California

2001 – Tyler Bell – Ventura HS, California

2000 – David Beck – Lockport HS, New York

No More Fumbles

Play Football

nfl play football

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.