Bo Nix of Pinson Valley (Alabama) is the NHSCA/High School Football America Player of the Year

bo nix

I’m proud to announce that Bo Nix of Pinson Valley High School in Alabama is the National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) National Senior Football Athlete of the Year. This honor is jointly presented with High School Football America.

Nix closed out his incredible scholastic career by leading Pinson Valley to its second straight Alabama Class 6A state championship. He finished as the only player in Alabama high school football history to ever top 12,000 yards in total offense with more than 10,000 yards passing and over 2,000 rushing. The 5-star recruit, who is already enrolled at Auburn, had his hand in 161 career touchdowns, a new state record.

Nix, a 3X all-state selection, was Gatorade’s 2018 Alabama State Player of the Year and a week ago he was named Alabama’s Mr. Football. He finished runner-up for that award as a junior.

In the classroom, Nix had a 4.14 grade point average.

“Bo is an excellent example what this award stands for,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  “He has excelled as much in the classroom as he has on the football field.  We congratulate Bo on an outstanding high school career and wish him success at Auburn.”

Nix is the first Alabama high school football player to win the award, which has been won by future Heisman Trophy winners Kyler Murray (Allen HS, Texas in 2015), Derrick Henry (Yulee HS, Florida in 2013) and Johnny Manziel (Kerrville Tivy HS, Texas in 2011). 

Nix will receive a beautiful plaque, plus he will be honored in the National High School Digital Sports Hall of Fame that is currently under development.

Past Winners of the NHSCA Senior National Football Athlete of the Year

2018 – JT Daniels – Mater Dei HS, California

2017 – Tate Martell – Bishop Gorman HS, Nevada

2016 – Sean McGrew – St John Bosco HS, California

2015 – Kyler Murray – Allen HS, Texas

2014 – Leonard Fournette – St. Augustine HS, Louisiana

2013 –  Derrick Henry – Yulee HS, Florida

2012 – Jonathan Gray – Aledo HS, Texas

2011 – Johnny Manziel – Tivy HS, Texas

2010 – Seantrel Henderson – Cretin-Derham Hall, Minnesota

2009 – Garrett Gilbert – Lake Travis HS, Texas

2008 – Terrell Pryor – Jeannette HS, Pennsylvania

2007 – John Brantley – Trinity Catholic HS, Florida

2006 – John Dergo – Morris HS, Illinois

2005 – Greg Paulus – Christian Brothers Academy, New York

2004 – Jeff Byers – Loveland HS, Colorado

2003 – Austin Scott – Parkland HS, Pennsylvania

2002 – Lorenzo Booker – St. Bonaventure HS, California

2001 – Tyler Bell – Ventura HS, California

2000 – David Beck – Lockport HS, New York

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.