Elite 11 Quarterback Competition begins Monday

elite 11 quarterback competition
gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

While the guessing game continues as to whether there will be high school football in the Fall, Monday will mark the start of the annual quarterback competition known as the Elite 11. Twenty of the top quarterbacks from around the nation will spend three days in Murfreesboro, Tennessee in hopes of being named the Elite 11 MVP.

Related: Top QB’s in Class of ’21

The field of athletes would have totaled 21 if Washington-recruit Sam Huard wouldn’t have had to pull-out of the competition, because he came in-contact with someone who had COVID-19. The Kennedy Catholic (Washington) star made the announcement on Twitter earlier this week.

Huard, the No. 2 overall college football quarterback prospect has already topped 10,000 career passing yards.

The nation’s overall No. 1 quarterback prospect Caleb Williams from Gonzaga in Washington, D.C. will be on-hand. On July 4, Williams is expected to announce his college choice.

Williams has named LSU, Maryland and Oklahoma as his top choices.

Seven of this year’s finalists hail from the Lone Star State. Leading the way is two-time state champ Dematrius Davis, Jr. of North Shore. With nearly 8,000 yards in total offense, Davis could leave the Mustangs as one of the state’s all-time best quarterbacks, like current Arizona Cardinals’ QB Kyler Murray, who led Allen to three straight state championships in Texas’ largest classification.

In addition to being our Player of the Year as a senior, Allen also led the Eagles to three straight High School Football America “mythical” national championships in 2012, 2013 and 2014.

Below are the 20 QB’s that will be competing this week:

2020 Elite 11 Roster

Jay Allen – John Carroll Catholic (Florida)

Luke Altmyer – Starkville (Mississippi)

Tyler Buchner – Helix (California)

Dematrius Davis, Jr. – North Shore (Texas)

Carlos Del Rio – Grayson (Georgia)

Kyron Drones – Shadow Creek (Texas)

Grayson James – John Paul II (Texas)

Maddox Kopp – St. Thomas Catholic (Texas)

Tyler Macon – East St. Louis (Illinois)

Drake Maye – Myers Park (North Carolina)

J.J. McCarthy – IMG Academy (Florida)

Kyle McCord – St. Joseph’s Prep (Pennsylvania)

Behren Morton – Eastland (Texas)

Miller Moss – Mater Dei (California)

Garrett Nussmeier – Flower Mound Marcus (Texas)

Kaidon Salter – Cedar Hill (Texas)

Ty Thompson – Mesquite (Arizona)

Brock Vandagriff – Prince Avenue Christian (Georgia)

Christian Veilleux – Bullis School (Maryland)

Caleb Williams – Gonzaga (Washington, D.C.)

No More Fumbles

Play Football

nfl play football

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.