Hawaii to keep three division playoff system

hawaii playoff system

Once again in 2017, there will be three playoff divisions — Open, Division I and Division II — in Hawaii.

On Friday, the Hawaii High School Athletic Association’s Executive Committee approved the three-tier system that began last year.  The only change from last year is that Division I will feature only six teams instead of eight.  All three playoff divisions will use six-team formats.

The Oahu Interscholastic Association, the largest of the state’s five leagues, voted not to participate in the Open Division.  The five leagues must declare their teams for one of the three divisions by September 1st.

St. Louis, which finished No. 1 in the final High School Football America Hawaii Top 5, is the defending Open Division champ.  Mililani won the 2016 Division I title, while Lahailnaluna is the defending Division II champ.

Related: Read more Hawaii high school football news


About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.