Lake Travis wins Texas 7 on 7 Division I title

lake travis
gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

Lake Travis, which finished No. 7 in the 2016 High School Football America Top 50 after winning Texas’ 6A Division I title, appears to be ready for the 2017 after winning the Texas 7 on 7 Division I championship Saturday.  The Cavaliers won their second overall Texas 7 on 7 title by defeating Waxahachie 34-33 in the championship game.

Waxahachie scored a touchdown on the final play of the game and decided to go for the two and the win, instead of playing it safe and going to overtime.  Waxahachie quarterback’s 2-point pass fell incomplete giving Lake Travis the victory.

Lake Travis, which won the 2010 title, finished a perfect 8-0 during the tournament.

Related: Graham wins Division II championship

Past Texas 7 on 7 Division I Champs

2016 – The Woodlands

2015 – Westlake

2014 – Katy Sevens Lakes

2013 – Southlake Carroll

2012 – Plano

2011 – DeSoto

2010 – Lake Travis

2009 – Round Rock Stony Point

2008 – Richland

2007 – Georgetown

1998-2006 all teams competed in one division

2006 – Colleyville Heritage

2005 – Baytown Lee

2004 – Tyler Lee

2003 – Odessa Permian

2002 – Katy Cinco Ranch

2001 – Baytown Lee

2000 – Celina

1999 – North Mesquite

1998 – Southlake Carroll

No More Fumbles

Play Football

nfl play football

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.