Mater Dei’s (California) Bruce Rollinson National High School Coaches Association/High School Football America Coach of the Year

Top 25Mater Dei head coach Bruce Rollinson
gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

Bruce Rollinson, who has spent over 40 years as a student-athlete and coach at Mater Dei (Santa Ana, CA) is the 2016 National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) National High School Football Coach of the Year.  The award is presented in jointly with High School Football America.

Rollinson, who has been Mater Dei’s head coach since 1989, owns a record of 272-83-2. Last season Rollinson led his school to a 13-1 record and was ranked No. 14 in the national in the High School Football America National High School Football Rankings.

Since taking-over the reigns of the football program at his alma mater, Rollinson has directed the Monarchs to 11 CIF-Southern Section championship games, winning five titles. In the mid-90’s, two of Rollinson’s teams were named national champions by USA TODAY.

Among the top players he has coached are quarterbacks Matt Barkley and Matt Leinart, who went to USC. Rollinson’s current quarterback, sophomore J.T. Daniels, has already thrown 100 touchdowns in his career, which gives him the most in Orange County history with two more years to go.

“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Rollinson,” said Bobby Ferraro, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “Coach Rollinson has established Mater Dei as one of the best programs in the nation. He’s exhibited a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.”

Rollinson is the second California high school football coach to receive the honor. De La Salle’s Bob Ladouceur, the NHSCA’s only two-time winner, won the award in 2001 and 2004.

Throughout 2017, the NHSCA will be honoring high achievers in the high school coaching community by naming Coaches of the Year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. It’s the 18th straight year that the NHSCA has presented its National Coach of the Year Awards.

Each one of the honorees will receive a beautiful trophy, plus they will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.

Below are the NHSCA’s past selections for National High School Football Coach of the Year.

2017 – Bruce Rollinson, Mater Dei, California

2016 – Gary Joseph, Katy, Texas

2015 – Roland Smith, Miami Central, Florida

2014 ­– Tom Westerberg, Allen HS, Texas

2013 – J.T. Curtis, John Curtis HS, Louisiana

2012 – Chuck Lenahan – Plymouth HS, New Hampshire

2011 – George Smith – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida

2010 – Jeremy Williams – Greenville HS, Georgia

2009 – John McKissick – Summerville HS , South Carolina

2008 – James Drewry – Booneville HS, Mississippi

2007 – Gary Rankin – Alcoa HS, Tennessee

2006 – Randy Allen – Highland Park HS, Texas

2005 – Charles “Corky” Roger – The Bolles School, Florida

2004 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2003 – Chris Jones – Heritage HS, Virginia

2002 – Alan Trimble – Jenks HS , Oklahoma

2001 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2000 – Mike Pettine, Sr. – Central Bucks West, Pennsylvania

No More Fumbles

Play Football

nfl play football

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.