Miami Central’s Roland Smith named High School Football America/NHSCA National Football Coach of the Year

Miami CentralMiami Central head coach Roland Smith, the 2014 High School Football America Coach of the Year, has now led his school to four straight Florida 6A titles.
gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

Miami Central head coach Roland Smith is the National High School Coaches Association‘s 2015 National Football Coach of the Year presented by High School Football America.

During Smith’s time at the helm of Miami Central has been a successful one. Smith, who took over as head coach in 2013, has led the Rockets to back-to-back Florida Class 6A state football titles. Last year’s title was the school’s third straight and fourth in the last five years.

In two seasons with the Rockets, Smith has only lost two games — both to Miami-rival Booker T. Washington. Last season, Miami Central finished #7 in the High School Football America Top 25 national rankings. Prior to arriving at Miami Central, Smith spent six seasons as the head coach at Miami Northwestern, leading the school to an overall record of 69-13, which included a perfect 15-0 season in 2006 that ended with a state championship.

Smith is the third coach from Florida to be honored by the NHSCA with its National Football Coach of the Year Award. Past winners were St. Thomas Aquinas’ George Smith in 2011 and Charles “Corky” Rogers of The Bolles School in 2005.

Past winners of the NHSCA National Football Coach of the Year Award sponsored by High School Football America since 2010

2014 – Tom Westerberg, Allen HS, Texas

2013 – J.T. Curtis, John Curtis School, Louisiana

2012 – Chuck Lenahan – Plymouth HS, New Hampshire

2011 – George Smith – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida

2010 – Jeremy Williams – Greenville HS, Georgia

2009 – John McKissick – Summerville HS , South Carolina

2008 – James Drewry – Booneville HS, Mississippi

2007 – Gary Rankin – Alcoa HS, Tennessee

2006 – Randy Allen – Highland Park HS, Texas

2005 – Charles “Corky” Rogers – The Bolles School, Florida

2004 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2003 – Chris Jones – Heritage HS, Virginia

2002 – Alan Trimble – Jenks HS , Oklahoma

2001 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2000 – Mike Pettine, Sr. – Central Bucks West, Pennsylvania

No More Fumbles

Play Football

nfl play football

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.