Nominees for Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award

nfl don shula award
gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

The list of nominees for the 2017 Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award is a distinguished one.

Don Shula Award nominees come from all 32 NFL teams. All of the coaches will be invited and recognized during the NFL’s week-long celebration of football at the 2018 Pro Bowl in Orlando. The coaches will participate in a special coaches’ clinic, enjoy a VIP visit to Pro Bowl practices and attend the USA Football National Conference.

“High school football coaches serve as role models for young athletes and their impact goes well beyond the playing field,” said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. “We are proud to honor this year’s nominees who embody the character, integrity and spirit of Coach Shula. Their commitment to improving the lives of students and developing young men of character is commendable.”

Two finalists will each receive $15,000 from the NFL Foundation, $10,000 of which will go to their high school’s football program. The Don Shula Award winner will be announced during the 2018 Pro Bowl, airing Sunday, Jan. 28 at 3 P.M. ET on ESPN.

2017 Don Shula NFL High School Football COY Nominees

Arizona Cardinals: Jason Mohns, Saguaro High School

Atlanta Falcons: Bill Stewart, North Gwinnett High School

Baltimore Ravens: Timothy Palmer, Harford Technical High School

Buffalo Bills: Mike Vastola, West Seneca West High School

Carolina Panthers: Andrew Webb, Clinton High School

Chicago Bears: Derek Leonard, Rochester High School

Cincinnati Bengals: Eddie Eviston, Covington Catholic High School

Cleveland Browns: Ron Rutt, Bay High School

Dallas Cowboys: Jeffrey Rayburn, Frisco Lone Star High School

Denver Broncos: Ryan Goddard, Pueblo South High School

Detroit Lions: Mike Giannone, Warren De La Salle Collegiate High School

Green Bay Packers: Steve Jones, Kimberly High School

Houston Texans: Brian Fitzgerald, Oak Ridge High School

Indianapolis Colts: Mike Kirschner, Ben Davis High School

Jacksonville Jaguars: Darrell Sutherland, Bartram Trail High School

Kansas City Chiefs: Phil Lite, Staley High School (Missouri); Brian King, DeSoto High School (Kansas)

Los Angeles Chargers: Robert Garrett, Crenshaw High School

Los Angeles Rams: Bob Johnson, Mission Viejo High School

Miami Dolphins: Pat Surtain, American Heritage School

Minnesota Vikings: Chad Sexauer, South St. Paul

New England Patriots: Paul Funk, Dennis-Yarmouth Regional High School

New Orleans Saints: Brandon Walters, West St. John High School

New York Giants: Matt Parzero, Newton High School

New York Jets: Jason Mollison, Franklin K. Lane Campus High School

Oakland Raiders: George Jackson, Kennedy High School

Philadelphia Eagles: Michael Matta, Downington High School

Pittsburgh Steelers: Jerry Veshio, Quaker Valley High School

San Francisco 49ers: Jubenal Rodriquez, Gilroy High School

Seattle Seahawks: Wiley Allred, Royal High School

Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Nate Varnadore, Citrus High School

Tennessee Titans: Cody White, Brentwood Academy

Washington Redskins: Billy Mills, Dinwiddie High School

Past Winners

2016 – Randy Allen, Highland Park (Texas)

2015 – Michael Burnett, Tuscarora (Virginia)

2014 – Bruce Larson, Somerset (Wisconsin)

2013 – Mike Grant, Eden Prairie (Minnesota)

2012 – Steve Specht, St. Xavier (Ohio)

2011 – John McKissick, Summerville (South Carolina)

2010 – Ray Seals, Madison (Houston, Texas)

No More Fumbles

Play Football

nfl play football

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.