Texas’ Gary Joseph of Katy HS named National Coach of the Year

Gary JosephGary Joseph of Katy (Texas) is the 2015 National High School Coaches Association National Football Coach of the Year Award winner presented by High School Football America.
gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

Gary Joseph, who has led Katy to four state championships in a dozen years as the school’s head coach, is the 2015 National High School Coaches Association (NHSCA) National Football Coach of the Year presented by High School Football America.

This past season, Katy steamrolled to a perfect 16-0 mark to win the Texas’ Class 6A Division II title, outscoring its opponents 778-62 with ten shutouts.  The Tigers finished #3 in the High School Football America National Top 25 and were named “mythical” national champs by MaxPreps.com, NationalHSFootball.com and PrepNation.com.

Joseph owns a lifetime mark of 168-14 with eight overall appearances in state championship games.  Joseph has led Katy to 11 district titles and the Tigers haven’t lost a district game since 2008.

Joseph will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future. He is the third Texas coach to win the prestigious honor.  Tom Westerberg of Allen won the award in 2013 and Randy Allen of Highland Park was the winner in 2005.

Past NHSCA National Football Coaches of the Year
High School Football America began presenting the award with the NHSCA in 2013

2015 – Roland Smith, Miami Central HS, Florida

2014 – Tom Westerberg, Allen HS, Texas

2013 – J.T. Curtis, John Curtis School, Louisiana

2012 – Chuck Lenahan – Plymouth HS, New Hampshire

2011 – George Smith – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida

2010 – Jeremy Williams – Greenville HS, Georgia

2009 – John McKissick – Summerville HS , South Carolina

2008 – James Drewry – Booneville HS, Mississippi

2007 – Gary Rankin – Alcoa HS, Tennessee

2006 – Randy Allen – Highland Park HS, Texas

2005 – Charles “Corky” Rogers – The Bolles School, Florida

2004 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2003 – Chris Jones – Heritage HS, Virginia

2002 – Alan Trimble – Jenks HS , Oklahoma

2001 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2000 – Mike Pettine, Sr. – Central Bucks West, Pennsylvania

Since 2000, the NHSCA has selected national coaches of the year in a total of 20 boys’ and girls’ sports.

Joseph will be inducted into the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame in May.

No More Fumbles

Play Football

nfl play football

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.

Comments are closed.