The Opening 2015 – Atlanta regional qualifier

by Jeff Fisher

Nike's The Opening 2015The invite list for The Opening 2015 at Nike World Headquarters in Oregon in July grew by eleven during a regional qualifier in Atlanta Sunday.

Leading the way were quarterbacks Malik Henry of IMG Academy in Florida and Jawon Pass from Columbus Carver HS in Georgia. has Pass listed as the #1 dual-threat quarterback in the country.

Joining IMG’s Henry at The Opening will be cornerbacks Savion Smith and Kahlil Ladler.  Right now, IMG will have six players at The Opening 2015.

Wide receiver Freddie Swain of North Marion HS in Florida punched his ticket. Two wideouts from Mississippi — DeKaylin Metcalf of Oxford HS and A.J. Brown of Starkville HS — also impressed in Atlanta and are moving-on to Beaverton, Oregon.  The fourth wide receiver to move through to the July 5-10th event was Dillon Mitchell of White Station HS in Tennessee.

Archer HS (Georgia) offensive lineman E.J. Price earned an invite along with defensive tackle Antwuan Jackson of Cedar Grove HS in Georgia.  The fourth Georgia player to advance was safety Nigel Warrior of Westlake High School.

In all 44 invites have been handed-out now.

The Opening 2015 invitees list

Krys Barnes – LB, Liberty HS (California)

A.J. Brown – WR, Starkville HS (Mississippi)

Sam Bruce – WR, St. Thomas Aquinas HS (Florida)

Brian Burns – DL, American Heritage HS (Florida)

Devin Bush – LB, Flanagan HS (Florida)

Tyrie Cleveland – WR, Westfield HS (Texas)

Jamel Cook – DB, Miami Central HS (Florida)

Eric Cuffee – DB, Waco HS (Texas)

Devin Duvarney – WR, Sachse HS (Texas)

Michael Eletise – OL, Kaiser HS (Hawaii)

Feleipe’ Franks – QB, Wakulla HS (Florida)

Chauncey Gardner – DB, Cocoa HS (Florida)

Malik Henry – QB, IMG Academy (Florida)

Antwuan Jackson – DT, Cedar Grove HS (Georgia)

Dontavious Jackson – LB, Elsik HS (Texas)

Baveon Johnson – OL, Lake Gibson HS (Florida)

Jack Jones – DB, Long Beach Poly (California)

Jonathan Jones – LB, Oak Ridge HS (Florida)

Kendall Jones – DL, Shoemaker HS (Texas)

Tony Jones – RB, IMG Academy (Florida)

Mique Juarez – LB, North Torrance HS (California)

Khalil Ladler – DB, IMG Academy (Florida)

Greg Little – OL, Allen HS (Texas)

Jared Mayden – DB, Sachse HS (Texas)

Jeffrey McCulloch – LB, Aldine Davis HS (Texas)

DeKaylin Metcalf – WR, Oxford HS (Mississippi)

Dillon Mitchell – WR, White Station HS (Tennessee)

Eric Monroe – DB, North Shore HS (Texas)

Trayvon Mullen – DB, Coconut Creek HS (Florida)

Isaac Nauta – TE, IMG Academy (Florida)

Jawon Pass – QB, Columbus Carver HS (Georgia)

C.J. Pollard – DB, Gardena Serra HS (California)

E.J. Price – OL, Archer HS (Georgia)

Demetris Robertson – WR, Savannah Christian (Georgia)

Kaden Smith – TE, Marcus HS (Texas)

Rahshaun Smith – LB, IMG Academy (Florida)

Savion Smith – DB, IMG Academy (Florida)

Dillon Sterling-Cole – QB, Westfield HS (Texas)

Freddie Swain – WR, North Marion HS (Florida)

Tyler Vaughns – WR, Bishop Amat HS (California)

Binjimen Victor – WR, Coconut Creek HS (Florida)

Devin White – ATH, North Webster HS (Louisiana)

Nigel Warrior – S, Westlake HS (Georgia)

Greedy Williams – DB, Calvary Baptist HS (Louisiana)


About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.