Westlake’s Todd Dodge named National Coach of the Year

gamestrat high school football sideline instant replay

High School Football America, in cooperation with the National High School Coaches Association, is pleased to announce that Todd Dodge of Westlake High School in Austin, Texas is the 2021 National Football Coach of the Year.

Coach Dodge, who announced before the season that this year would be his last, closed-out an incredible coaching career earlier this month by leading Westlake to its third straight Texas high school football championship. The title was the seventh overall for Dodge, who also won four at Southlake Carroll.

Westlake ended 2021 ranked No. 2 in the High School Football America 100 national rankings, powered by NFL Play Football. It was the second straight year that the Chaparrals finished No. 2 in the HSFA national rankings.

Dodge won 233 games in 23 years as a high school football coach. He goes into retirement on a 40-game win streak, which is the third longest active streak in America by a public school.

“There’s no doubt that high school football is losing an offensive innovator and trailblazer,” said Jeff Fisher, co-founder of High School Football America. “Coach Dodge’s success goes beyond the playing field. He leaves the coaching profession on top of his game and we’re proud to honor him with our Coach of the Year Award.”

During his high school career at Port Arthur High School, Dodge was a record-setting quarterback. He graduated with the Texas state record for career passing completions (381) and the single-season record for completions (221). After his senior season in 1980, Dodge was named a Parade Magazine All-American.

Dodge went on to play his college football at the University of Texas.

“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Dodge,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “He established both Westlake and Southlake Carroll as top national programs.  He exhibits a strong dedication to supporting and developing his high school student-athletes both on-and-off the football field.”

Coach Dodge was one of three finalists for the award. Kevin Creasy of Oakland HS (Murfressboro, Tennessee) and Jason Negro of St. John Bosco HS (Bellflower, California) were the other two.

Dodge is the fourth high school football coach from Texas to be honored by High School Football America and the NHSCA.

Katy High School’s Gary Joseph won the award in 2015. Tom Westerberg of Allen was honored in 2013. Randy Allen of Highland Park was the first winner from Texas in 2005.

This is the 23rd year that the NHSCA has handed-out the National Football Coach of the Year Award. High School Football America partnered with the NHSCA on the award in 2012.

In addition to the Football COY award, since the 1999-2000 sports season, the NHSCA has been honoring coaches in 19 other boys’ and girls’ high school sports.

Below is a complete list of previous winners of the football award.

Past selections for National High School Football Coach of the Year:

2020-2021 – Patrick Surtain, Sr. – American Heritage School, Plantation, Florida

2019-2020 – Tom Knotts – Dutch Fork HS, South Carolina

2018-2019 – Gabe Infante – St. Joseph’s Prep, Pennsylvania

2017-2018 – Bob Beatty – Trinity HS, Kentucky

2016-2017 – Bruce Rollinson – Mater Dei HS, California

2015-2016 – Gary Joseph – Katy HS, Texas

2014-2015 – Roland Smith – Miami Central HS, Florida

2013-2014 ­– Tom Westerberg – Allen HS, Texas

2012-2013 – J.T. Curtis – John Curtis HS, Louisiana

2011-2012 – Chuck Lenahan – Plymouth HS, New Hampshire

2010-2011 – George Smith – St. Thomas Aquinas HS, Florida

2009-2010 – Jeremy Williams – Greenville HS, Georgia

2008-2009 – John McKissick – Summerville HS, South Carolina

2007-2008 – James Drewry – Booneville HS, Mississippi

2006-2007 – Gary Rankin – Alcoa HS, Tennessee

2005-2006 – Randy Allen – Highland Park HS, Texas

2004-2005 – Charles “Corky” Roger – The Bolles School, Florida

2003-2004 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

2002-2003 – Chris Jones – Heritage HS, Virginia

2001-2002 – Alan Trimble – Jenks HS, Oklahoma

2000-2001 – Bob Ladouceur – De La Salle HS, California

1999-2000 – Mike Pettine, Sr. – Central Bucks West, Pennsylvania

No More Fumbles

Play Football

nfl play football

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.