The Woodlands win Texas 7 on 7 Division I title

The Woodlands High School footballThe Woodlands wins Texas 7 on 7 Division I title. Photo from Twitter.

The Woodlands claimed its first-ever Texas 7 on 7 Division I title Saturday with a 32-26 win over Dickinson in the championship game in College Station, Texas.  The Highlanders were led by quarterback Eric Schmid, who was named the tournament’s Offensive MVP.  Also winning honors on Saturday for The Woodlands were defensive back Jacob Moore, who was the Division I Defensive MVP, and wide receiver Dylan Casey, who was named the tournament’s Speed King.

After finishing a perfect 3-0 in pool play, the Highlanders defeated Dawson (33-32), Richardson Pearce (32-27), College Station (40-25) and DeSoto (32-26) in the championship bracket.

Texas 7 on 7 Division I champs

2016 – The Woodlands

2015 – Westlake

2014 – Katy Sevens Lakes

2013 – Southlake Carroll

2012 – Plano

2011 – DeSoto

2010 – Lake Travis

2009 – Round Rock Stony Point

2008 – Richland

2007 – Georgetown

1998-2006 all teams competed in one division

2006 – Colleyville Heritage

2005 – Baytown Lee

2004 – Tyler Lee

2003 – Odessa Permian

2002 – Katy Cinco Ranch

2001 – Baytown Lee

2000 – Celina

1999 – North Mesquite

1998 – Southlake Carroll

About the Author

Jeff Fisher
Jeff is an award-winning journalist and expert in the field of high school sports, underscored with his appearance on CNBC in 2010 to talk about the big business of high school football in America. Jeff turned to his passion for high school football into an entrepreneurial venture called High School Football America, a digital media company focused on producing original high school sports content for radio, television and the internet. Jeff is co-founder and editor-in-chief of High School Football America, which is a media partner with USA TODAY High School Sports.